Town Meeting Minutes
Minutes from Town Meeting
May 4, 2015

        President John P. Griffin, Sr. called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.  Present were Town Commissioners Charles M. Rhodes, Jr. and Edward C. Raffetto, Town Attorney Karen Ruff, and Town Administrator, Nancy J. Lindyberg. See attendance sheet for other attendees.  President Griffin dispensed with the Pledge of Allegiance.  The minutes from the April 20, 2015 meeting were approved as submitted.

Committee Reports:

Planning & Zoning: Janet Rochester said that there is nothing on the agenda for May; therefore, the next Planning & Zoning meeting will be June 8, 2015 at 7:00 p.m.

Board of Appeals:
  Nothing to report

Budget Status Report
:  Each Commissioner had a copy to review.

Unfinished Business:

Town Hall Parking Lot:  Ms. Lindyberg said that Town Engineer Wayne Newton evaluated the parking lot and said that the repaving could wait until Memorial Day weekend in May 2016.  The Commissioners decided that since the repaving has been done every year and, the last time the parking lot was repaved was during Labor Day weekend of last year, they would re-evaluate just prior to Labor Day of this year.
Mr. Tom Boeshore supplied the Commissioners with the site plan regarding the property line on Walnut Street that they discussed at the last Town meeting. 

New Business:

Correspondence Received:
   The Town received a thank you letter from Tom Boeshore for speaking with him at the last Town meeting.
The Town received an email from Margie Houck indicating that the Council of Government meeting that was scheduled for May 12th has been rescheduled for June 10th in Queen Anne.
The Town received an invitation, via email on May 4th, to attend an SHA press event regarding "Work Zone Safety".  The event is scheduled for Tuesday, May 5, 2015 at the Park and Ride lot adjacent to the construction site of the new US 301 at MD 304 interchange.

Introduction of Ordinance No.: 156/15-FY16 Draft Budget:
  This is an ordinance of the Commissioners approving the budget of the Town for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2016 establishing the tax rate of $.34 per $100 of assessed valuation for real property; establishing a utility tax rate of $.85 per $100 assessed valuation for real property; establishing a sewer fee of $315 per equivalent dwelling unit and providing for the collection of the State of Maryland Bay Restoration Fund annual fee of $60.  Commissioner Rhodes made a motion to introduce Ordinance No. 156/15 and hold a Public Hearing on May 18, 2015.  Commissioner Raffetto seconded the motion.  The motion was passed 3-0.

  The election for Town Commissioner will be Monday, June 1, 2015 and Certificates of Nomination are due May 12, 2015.


Sewer System:

Flow Reports:  Each Commissioner had a copy of the report.

Flow Meter Installation Extension:
   The Town received a letter from Yen-Der Cheng, Chief of Municipal Surface Discharge Permits Division, granting the Town a 12 month extension to the timeframe to install the influent meter at the Church Hill WWTP.  The influent shall be monitored and reported not later than April 30, 2016.


  Janet Rochester asked if the fourth grade students of Church Hill Elementary School were going to stencil all the storm drains in Church Hill.  Commissioner Rhodes stated that he believes it will be only on Main Street.

Commissioner Rhodes made a motion to recess the regular meeting and enter into Executive Session pursuant to the General Provisions Article Section 3-305 (b) (7) to consult with counsel to obtain legal advice regarding auditor contract and to discuss a personnel matter
Commissioner Raffetto seconded the motion.  The motion passed 3-0.  The meeting was recessed at 7:25 p.m.

. "The Town Commissioners held a Closed Session at 7:30 p.m. in Town Hall, 324 Main Street, Church Hill, Maryland."  The Commissioners adjourned in Closed Session at 8:30 p.m.  Those in attendance were President John P. Griffin, Sr., Commissioners Charles M. Rhodes, Jr., Edward C. Raffetto, Jr., Town Attorney Karen Ruff and Town Administrator/Clerk, Nancy Lindyberg.

No action was taken and Commissioner Rhodes made a motion to return to regular session at 8:30 p.m.  Commissioner Raffetto seconded the motion.  The motion passed 3-0. 
Commissioner Rhodes made a motion to adjourn the regular session.  Commissioner Raffetto seconded the motion.  The motion was passed 3-0.  The regular session was adjourned at 8:31 p.m.

The next Town Meeting will be Monday, May 18, 2015 at 7:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy J. Lindyberg
Town Administrator/Clerk

I hereby certify that the forgoing is a true and accurate record of the open Town Meeting held by the Town Commissioners of Church Hill on May 4, 2015 at 7:00 p.m.
John P. Griffin, Sr., President